Tags

, , , , , ,

Illustration of a Dutch printing of the book J...

Image via Wikipedia

Day 21: Favorite BDSM related book (fiction or non-fiction)

I haven’t read many, but I would have to say Philosophy in the Bedroom by the Marquis de Sade, though I must admit I haven’t read all of it. I like how it’s really a treatise on Sade’s libertine philosophies that uses the erotic to hold your attention. It’s really masterfully done. I also love how shamelessly depraved de Sade is. I have the 120 Days of Sodom in PDF form on my computer, and sometimes I re-read it and worry that it’s not even legal to possess. But even though not everything he writes about turns me on, I respect him as a philosopher and a counter-culture hero.

But I would like to read more. Can anybody recommend me a BDSM, sex, gender, LGBTQ, or poly related book that I might enjoy and find useful? I like both fiction and nonfiction, though I read enough erotica already. And I’ve already got The Ethical Slut under my belt.  Any recommendations?