Tags

, , , ,

Day 25: How open are you about your kinks?

I am relatively open. I’ve brought it up with everyone I’ve had sex with, which is a lot of my close friends. I also have a FetLife account (and a blog!) where I regularly discuss the details of my sex life. If it comes up in conversation, I will generally talk about it without hesitation.

I don’t, however, feel the need to “come out of the closet” to anyone. Since it’s not something that affects the visible surface of my relationships (like homosexuality would, for instance) I don’t feel the need to tell family etc about what I do in the bedroom. I doubt they would want to imagine it, and I don’t want them to get the wrong idea and assume I am abused or lacking in self-esteem. My mother and I have discussed it, when I was maybe 15 or 16,  in the context of an episode of House. She said she didn’t understand S&M at all, and I explained and defended it. I am also not open with them about the poly nature of my relationship, and they have never met E, but they do know that I am bisexual and I have dropped large hints about my gender identity. It’s not that they are intolerant, but more that I just don’t think they need to know.

I’m curious: are any of my dear readers out of the closet with family? Why did you feel the need to come out?